Closing your browser and restarting it for PSMail website

As part of our enhanced security, PSMail servers enforce strict browser session checks and also block concurrent access to your account from multiple browsers. Here we will explain to you how to close your browser (not just the current window of the browser) and restart it to clear your session and ensure a proper secure login next time you access PSMail.

On each login and logout, users need to completely close their browsers and re-open them. This provides additional security against hijacking of stale sessions or content from your browser.  It is recommended that you wait at least 15 seconds before re-opening the browser to ensure all cached session information is expired and cleaned up.

We realize that this can be confusing for some users who typically do not close their browsers. Here are detailed steps on how to close your browser on different computers. For iPhone and iPad instructions click here.

Google Chrome (Windows)
– Close current window: CTRL+SHIFT+W or ALT+F4

Internet Explorer (Windows)
– Minimize all windows, which minimizes all open windows to your Windows taskbar: Windows Key+M
– Then Quit Internet Explorer. This only quits the active instance of Explorer. If you have other windows open, you need to repeat the shortcut for them: ALT+F4

Firefox (Windows)
– Minimize all windows, which minimizes all open windows to your Windows taskbar: Windows Key+M
– Then Quit Firefox. This only quits the active instance of Firefox. If you have other windows open, you need to repeat the shortcut for them: ALT+F4

Opera (Windows)
– Minimize all windows, which minimizes all open windows to your Windows taskbar: Windows Key+M
– Then Quit Opera. This only quits the active instance of Opera. If you have other windows open, you need to repeat the shortcut for them: ALT+F4

Chrome (Mac)
– Quit Chrome, which exits the browser application completely: Command+Q

Firefox (Mac)
– Quit Firefox, which exits the browser application completely: Command+Q

Safari (Mac)
– Quit Safari, which exits the browser application completely: Command+Q

Chrome (Chrome OS)
– Close current window: CTRL+SHIFT+W

If you follow these steps whenever you end a PSMail session, you shouldn’t have any trouble logging back in next time. If you do, there may be something else going on and we’re here to help. Just contact us at our Helpdesk.